I hope this is the Onion masquerading as the New York Times

On 27 May 2010, the New York Times ran an article, “Dimple Chaudhary and Previn Warren,” which it highlighted with this photo on the front page of its web edition:

The South Asian names and the photo caught my attention: I thought this piece might be on a Bollywood premiere or some aspect of 21st century Indian nightlife in Delhi or Bombay. So I clicked on the link and started to read. It wasn’t about India or South Asia at all, really, apart from the fact that both Ms. Chaudhary and Mr. Warren are of South Asian descent. Instead, it was about how Ms. Chaudhary’s friend, Ms. Larson, hooked up her incredibly intelligent, gorgeous, Brooklynite friend, the late-20s Ms. Chaudhary, on a blind date with the incredibly intelligent, scruffy but handsome, aspiring rock-n-roller, and early-20s Mr. Warren. We learn about Ms. Chaudhary’s angst over the lack of good men in Brooklyn these days, how she’d never before considered dating a younger guy, as well as about Mr. Warren’s astonishment when Ms. Larson stopped him on the street one day and asked him if he’d go out with her awesome friend, his shyness around Ms. Chaudhary when they first met, and some other very important details — like how Chaudhary knew their relationship reached a new level when the two were together in Montreal:

“Previn turned to me and started telling me how much he loved me and how he felt like he had just been waiting for me to come into his life,” Ms. Chaudhary wrote in an e-mail message. “We were young, tired, wet, drunk and broke. But he was so hopeful and certain, and he made me believe, too. I think it was at that instant I stopped worrying about our ages, our futures and our families, and just let myself be in the moment with him.”

Drunk and broke in Montreal? Really? Something about the variables in this scenario doesn’t add up. Tabling my cynicism and disbelief that these youngsters vacationing in Montreal were any of the characteristics described by Ms. Chaudhary apart from young and wet, I read on: the hard-hitting article goes on to report that Ms. Chaudhary and Mr. Warren both attended Harvard, and that they were tickled to learn their tenures at the old Ivy even overlapped by one year. Of course they didn’t meet then, which makes this whimsical union all the more titillating. Today they’re back in Beantown as a married couple: Chaudhary is a lawyer at a law firm, while Warren attends Harvard Law School on a Soros Scholarship. The photo the NY Times brandished on it’s web front page is apparently a photo from their wedding.

I am bowled over that this article is in the NY Times at all, and simply flabbergasted that someone (or some people) at the newspaper I generally look to for important news, internationally relevant reporting, and trenchant editorials thought this story warranted underscoring on the front page of http://www.nytimes.com. I don’t want to rant about the fact that this piece appears in a section called “Vows,” but that, too, merits a mention and a growl.

Somebody snap a rubberband on my arm, and tell me that this article is really just the Onion masquerading as the New York Times.

2 thoughts on “I hope this is the Onion masquerading as the New York Times

  1. wildbillyscircusstory

    Actually, the NYT is quite famous for printing these types of stories and getting one’s marital status updated in the “Vows” section is an (elitist) cultural coup — they don’t just print up Joey from Bensonhurst’s upcoming nuptuals to Lorraine. The Grey Lady has always been as much of a tool of New York socialites as it has an investigative organism. Don’t get me wrong: I share your disdain and eye-rolling. I’m just not surprised.

    Reply
  2. peashoot Post author

    Sure, I’ve seen wedding announcements in the NY Times before. But never have I seen a story like this (two pages on the online edition) for non-athletes, non-celebrities, non-politicians, and the like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

