What’s Fr. X’s wedding percentage?

Episcopalian priest, Tim Schenck, suggests on his blog, “Clergy Family Confidential,” that perhaps the clergy should have trading cards!

Nothing fancy, just an action photo on the front with parish stats on the back. Even though priests are always saying “it’s not about the numbers” we don’t actually believe this. So we should put our numbers where our mouths are and stick them on the back of bubble gum cards.

What’s more…

They would still be sold in wax packs but rather than a stale piece of gum you’d find a stale wafer.

4 thoughts on “What’s Fr. X’s wedding percentage?

  1. wildbillyscircusstory

    This is hilarious. It reminds me of a Simpsons episode where Flanders has a garage sale and he’s hawking his Christian trading cards. Milhouse is very excited about his Methuselah (sp?) rookie card and Nelson exalts about his Joseph of Arimithea card, exclaiming, “Forty conversions in 76 A.D.!!!”

    Reply
  2. wildbillyscircusstory

    I also love the baseball cards he used in the post, but he missed the most obvious one — a card that shows the struggle of modern man between the spiritual (and therefore unverifiable) and the agnostic: Angel Pagan. Mr. Pagan formerly played for my Cubbies and now patrols the outfield for the Mets I believe.

    Reply
  3. Peashoot

    Yeah, Pagan plays for the Mets now. His card wouldn’t look nearly as cool as the old 70s (or are they 60s?) classics.

    Ha! I bet Fr. Tim is a real life Flanders.

    Reply
  4. wildbillyscircusstory

    I think those were sixties…I collected up through college until I sold my collection so I could buy Grateful Dead tickets. I kind of regret it, but not too much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

