New Music

So, I see quite a few musicians along the sidebar of this blog, I clicked on Dengue Fever and am listening to their stream now. What else are you guys listening to lately (aside from Wilco, of course)? A sample of my recent heavy rotation is below, but I’ve been stuck on these guys for awhile. Looking for some new stuff.

– M.I.A – Both Kala and Arular. She and her producer pull together sounds that aren’t expected. Great beats.

– TV on the Radio – Some of their stuff is over dramatic or something, but much of Dear Science is quite good. And Wolf Like Me from “cookie mountain” (thanks Cerulean Blues for the mix disc a couple years ago including that one) is awesome

– The Silver Jews – Especially “American Water” (addicting, after a bit of time with it), but also “Starlite Walker” and even a bit of the silly, but catchy “Tanglewood Numbers”.  The Jews (Berman) pulls off some really catchy tunes with extremely silly lyrics. For a super serious dude who once tried to commit suicide using Crack, alcohol, and Xanax, it’s an intriguing catalog. Check out “Sometimes a Pony Gets Depressed” (Aside, Blip.fm looks like a decent find)

– Pavement – I never listened to them in college, though that was their time. I started listening to them because of the Silver Jews (Malkmus was in the Jews, too). The volume of stuff they put out is impressive, but I’d say I only like half of it. That half is pretty damn good tho.

– Spoon

What’s on heavy ro for EMP’s writers and/or readers?

3 thoughts on “New Music

  1. peashoot

    I’d like to get me some of that Mango Pickle!

    I like Cornershop these days. The new album, “Judy Sucks a Lemon for Breakfast,” is really good. You might know a song of theirs from some years back that made a minor splash, “Brimful of Asha.”

    I’m still grooving on Camper van Beethoven’s “Key Lime Pie” after all these years. In fact CVB has more or less filled in the one-time steady-holding Wilco rotation in my players.

    And finally, give me Hamid Drake or don’t drum at all. Anything this guy touches with his sticks, brushes, or mitts is solid gold in my book. Right now I’m wearing out my DVK Trio records (esp the “Live in Wels & Chicago” concerts).

    Reply
  2. wildbillyscircusstory

    I’m a big Pavement guy, but I’m with you on their hit or miss quality. There’s also only so much lo-fi a guy can take. But, I’d recommend checking out Malkmus’ solo albums. They are a lot more cohesive thematically, lyrically and musically. To be sure, that is precisely what turns a lot of Pavement junkies off, but I dig it. Kind of going through a Meat Puppets phase again (if you don’t know them, start with Up on the Sun).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

