Allman Brothers : Driving :: Feelies : Running

I’ve know about the first half of this analogy for years, probably since taking my first bona fide roadtrip in college. But I’ve only come to know about the second part of the analogy recently (in part, I suppose, because the activities that accompanied listening to the Allman Brothers while driving across the United States, activities that occupied much of my time for many years, do not lend themselves to cardiovascular activity). Toss in a snowy, powdery white Erie Canal to run along, and the mix is nearly magical. This morning the Feelies (“Crazy Rhythms” and “Let’s Go”) received stellar backing support from:

CVB – “I was Born in a Laundromat”

Wilco  – “One Wing” & “Misunderstood”

Dinosaur Jr. – “Whatever’s Cool with Me”

Method Man & Redman – “Cereal Killer”

Rolling Stones – “Rocks Off”

2 thoughts on “Allman Brothers : Driving :: Feelies : Running

  1. peashoot Post author

    For the run this morning I opted for a podcast of “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me,” with the celebrity guest Dick van Dyke. I’ve loved this show for years, but always exclusively in my car. So I was a bit dubious about how it would work on foot, in the snow, along the canal. It was hilarious as usual and, besides, I’m fast becoming a fan of Dick van Dyke now that Kid A has taken a shining to Mary Poppins. The talk/game show actually made the time go by just as quickly as music does, and I think it took my mind off of the 20º temperature in a more sustained manner than does the jukebox, which occasionally slips in a dud now and again.

    Reply
    1. peashoot Post author

      Nice mix this morning. I really like #3 these days, and the Dum Dum Girls are my new favorite band to accompany me on a run.

      [1] “It’s In Our Hands,” Bjork
      [2] “Shutterbug,” Arlo
      [3] “Four Provinces,” The Walkmen
      [4] “Scoff [live @ Pine St. Theatre],” Nirvana
      [5] “Jail La La,” Dum Dum Girls
      [6] “The Straight Life,” Mudhoney
      [7] “Smoke In Your Disguise,” New Roman Times
      [8] “Gauze,” Red Red Meat
      [9] “Believe in Magic,” Jim Jones ft. Lloyd and Girl Talk
      [10] “Children of the Sun,” Digital Underground
      [11] “Judy Sucks a Lemon for Breakfast,” Cornershop

      Reply

Leave a Reply

